The WAN House of the Year Award is our most popular and longest running award category. It’s celebration of the most ambitious and inspiring projects that have been designed by architects across the globe.

We're looking for architects who have continued to push the creative envelope by designing ever more stylish yet sustainable single-family houses, balancing innovation with efficiency and functionality with aesthetic rigour.

Entries will be assessed by a panel of world-class experts, each of whom chosen for their insights and passion for great design. Recognition from these leading industry figures will give your firm valuable kudos, not to mention an enhanced global profile and greater exposure to potential clients.

This category is open to all single-family houses completed in the year 2017.

Judging Critieria

The judges will use their experience in the sector to assess your project on a number of factors to get to the short list including; Originality, Innovation, Form, Function, Sustainability and Context.

The shortlisted projects will then be tested to see whether your design has:

  • Addressed any key challenges within the client brief
  • Pushed the accepted boundaries for this building type

Presentation is also of great importance, and judges will be looking for your ability to communicate the 'story' of your building, from the initial concept through to its completion.


The competition is open to all single-family houses completed during 2017.

Entry Fees

  • £225+VAT (Early bird - valid before 30 March)
  • £275+VAT (Standard - valid between 30 March - 12 June)

Winner 2017: Retreat in the Sahyadris, Khosla Associates

Website Menu