The WAN Education award, now in its 10th year, aims to celebrate the best in architectural design for all levels of educational and research use, from nurseries and kindergartens right through to universities and research facilities.

As the largest award of its kind, attracting entries from all over the world, the award offers an unparalleled opportunity to gain recognition and exposure for your work, promoting the best in pioneering education design.

Recognition from our judges will significantly enhance the image and profile of your practice, which could help consolidate your position as a leader in original design.

We will be looking at a variety of different building types for this award, to name a few:

  • Pre-School (Nurseries / Kindergartens)
  • Primary Education (Primary Schools / KS 1-2 / Grades 1-5)
  • Secondary Education (Middle & High Schools / KS3-5)
  • Higher Education & Research (Universities / Colleges / Research Facilities)
  • Training academies (nursing colleges, dentistry schools, sports training facilities)
  • Other (speech & reading centres, adult learning centres - for example)

Judging Criteria

The judges will use their experience in the sector to assess your project on a number of factors to get to the short list including; Originality, Innovation, Form, Function, Sustainability and Context. 
The shortlisted projects will then be tested to see whether your design has:
  • Addressed the key elements of the client brief
  • Used design to evolve or push the boundaries of this specific typology and will look for specific examples of how your building has enhanced the learning environment 

Presentation is also of great importance, and judges will be looking for your ability to communicate the 'story' of your building, from the initial concept through to its completion.


The competition is open to all projects built during the last three full calendar years, on or after 01 January 2015.

Entry Fees

  • £375 + VAT (Early bird - valid before 30 March) 
  • £425 + VAT (Standard - valid between 30 March - 12 June) 

2017 Winner: Mandeville Centre, Architectus

Website Menu